



**ORIGINAL**: English **DATE**: April 18, 2006

#### WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION

GENEVA

# INTERGOVERNMENTAL COMMITTEE ON INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY AND GENETIC RESOURCES, TRADITIONAL KNOWLEDGE AND FOLKLORE

### Ninth Session Geneva, April 24 to 28, 2006

# VOLUNTARY FUND FOR ACCREDITED INDIGENOUS AND LOCAL COMMUNITIES INFORMATION NOTE ON CONTRIBUTIONS AND APPLICATIONS FOR SUPPORT

#### Document prepared by the Secretariat

- 1. Article 6(f) of Annex to document WO/GA/32/6 which was approved by the General Assembly ( $32^{nd}$  session) establishing the WIPO Voluntary Fund states:
- "(f) Before each Committee session, the WIPO Director General will communicate for the information of participants an information note setting out:
- (i) the level of the voluntary contributions paid into the Fund on the date on which the document was drafted,
- (ii) the identity of the contributors (unless individual contributors have expressly requested to remain anonymous),
  - (iii) the amount of the resources available taking into account the funds disbursed,
- (iv) the list of people who have benefited from the Fund's support since the previous information memorandum,
  - (v) the people chosen to benefit from the Fund but who withdrew,

# WIPO/GRTKF/IC/9/INF/8 page 2

- (vi) the amount of the support allocated to each beneficiary, and
- (vii) a sufficiently detailed description of the applicants seeking support for the following session.

This document will also be addressed by name to the members of the Advisory Board for examination and deliberation."

2. The present document constitutes the first such information note, as required by the decision of the Assembly and the information required to be communicated to participants in the ninth session of the Committee is as follows:

Level of the voluntary contributions paid to the Fund until April 18, 2006:

nil to date

Level of the voluntary contributions pledged to the Fund until April 18, 2006:

500,000 Swedish Kronas (ca 65,700 US\$ at the current exchange rate).

Identity of the contributor:

Swedish International Biodiversity Programme (SwedBio), Sweden.

Amount of the resources available taking into account the funds disbursed:

nil to date

<u>List of persons who have benefited from the Fund's support since the previous information</u> note:

none

Persons chosen to benefit from the Fund but who withdrew:

none

Amount of the support allocated to each beneficiary:

none

page 3

#### List of the applicants seeking support for the tenth session of the Committee:

(by alphabetical order)

#### Mrs. Gulnara ABBASOVA

Nationality: Ukraine

Mailing address: Simferopol, Ukraine

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Foundation for Research and Support of Indigenous Peoples of Crimea

Seat of the accredited observer: Simferopol, Ukraine

#### Mrs. Walet ABOUBACRINE TALKALIT

Nationality: Mali

Mailing address: Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Tin-Hinane

Seat of the accredited observer: Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso

#### Mr. Estebancio CASTRO DIAZ

Nationality: New Zealand and Panama Mailing address: Wellington, New Zealand

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

**International Indian Treaty Council** 

Seat of the accredited observer: San Francisco, United States of America

#### Mr. Peter Kiplangat CHERUIYOT

Nationality: Kenya

Mailing address: Narok, Kenya

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Ogiek Peoples Development Program (OPDP) Seat of the accredited observer: Narok, Kenya

#### Mr. Etsa Marco CHIRIAP KUKUSH

Nationality: Ecuador

Mailing address: Erbree, France

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate: Tsentsak Survival Foundation (Cultura Shuar del Ecuador)

Seat of the accredited observer: Morona Santiago, Ecuador

#### Mrs. Anastasia CHUKHMAN

Nationality: Russian Federation

Mailing address: Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russian Federation Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON)

Seat of the accredited observer: Moscow, Russian Federation

page 4

#### Mr. Albert DETERVILLE

Nationality: Saint Lucia

Mailing address: Castries, Saint Lucia

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Indigenous People (Bethechilokono) of Saint Lucia Governing Council (BCG)

Seat of the accredited observer: Castries, Saint Lucia

#### Mrs. Le'a Malia KANEHE

Nationality: United States of America

Mailing address: Nixon, United States of America

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Indigenous Peoples Council on Biocolonialism (IPCB)

Seat of the accredited observer: Nixon, United States of America

#### Mrs. Neeti MAHANTI

Nationality: India

Mailing address: New Delhi, India

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Jigyansu Tribal Research Center (JTRC)

Seat of the accredited observer: New Delhi, India

#### Mr. Jebra Ram MUCHAHARY

Nationality: India

Mailing address: Assam, India

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Indian Confederation of Indigenous and Tribal Peoples North-East Zone (ICITP NEZ)

Seat of the accredited observer: Assam, India

#### Mr. Divine MUMA

Nationality: Cameroon

Mailing address: Bamenda, Cameroon

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Global Education and Environment Development Foundation (GEED-Foundation)

Seat of the accredited observer: Bamenda, Cameroon

#### Mr. Musa Usman NDAMBA

Nationality: Cameroon

Mailing address: Bamenda, Cameroon

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate: Mbororo Social Cultural Development Association (MBOSCUDA)

Seat of the accredited observer: Bamenda, Cameroon

#### Mr. Joseph O. OGIERAKHI

Nationality: Nigeria

Mailing address: Benin City, Nigeria

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate: West Africa Coalition for Indigenous Peoples' Rights (WACIPR)

Seat of the accredited observer: Benin City, Nigeria

page 5

#### Mr. Johnson OLE KAUNGA

Nationality: Kenya

Mailing adress: Nairobi, Kenya

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

International Labour Office

Seat of the accredited observer: Geneva, Switzerland

#### Mr. Lazaro PARY ANAGUA

Nationality: Bolivia

Mailing address: Geneva, Switzerland

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Indian Movement "Tupaj Amaru"

Seat of the accredited observer: Geneva, Switzerland

#### Mr. Mohammad RASDI WANGSA

Nationality: Indonesia

Mailing address: Bogor-Jawa Barat, Indonesia

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Indonesian Traditional Wisdom Network (ITWN)

Seat of the accredited observer: Bogor-Jawa Barat, Indonesia

#### Mr. Rodion SULYANDZIGA

Nationality: Russian Federation

Mailing address: Moscow, Russian Federation

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate: Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON) Seat of the accredited observer: Moscow, Russian Federation

#### Mr. Maui SOLOMON

Nationality: New Zealand

Mailing address: Wellington, New Zealand

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Hokotehi Moriori Trust

Seat of the accredited observer: Rehoku, Chatham Islands, New Zealand

#### Mr. Honor TOUDISSA MALANDA

Nationality: Congo

Mailing address: Brazzaville, Congo

Name of the accredited observer which nominates the candidate:

Congolese Association of Young Chefs and Gastrotechnie Consultancy International

Seat of the accredited observer: Ouenze, Brazzaville, Congo

3. The Committee is invited to take note of the content of this document.

[End of document]