

MVT/A/5/1 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: JULY 21, 2020

Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled (MVT)

Assembly

Fifth (5th Ordinary) Session Geneva, September 21 to 29, 2020

STATUS OF THE MARRAKESH TREATY

Document prepared by the Secretariat

This document provides information on signature as well as on ratification of, and accession to, the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled ("Marrakesh Treaty"). It also provides an update on the status of Marrakesh Treaty promotion and implementation.

A. MARRAKESH TREATY SIGNATURE

- 1. On June 27, 2013, the Diplomatic Conference to Conclude a Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works by Visually Impaired Persons and Persons with Print Disabilities adopted by consensus the Marrakesh Treaty, which was opened for signature on June 28, 2013. In accordance with Article 17 of the Marrakesh Treaty, the Treaty remained open for signature at the headquarters of WIPO for one year after its adoption, that is, until June 27, 2014.
- 2. As of June 27, 2014, the 80 eligible parties listed in Annex I had signed the Treaty.

B. MARRAKESH TREATY ENTRY INTO FORCE

- 3. Article 18 provides that the Treaty shall enter into force three months after 20 eligible parties have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession. The twentieth deposit was made on June 30, 2016.
- 4. On September 30, 2016 the Marrakesh Treaty entered into force.
- C. MARRAKESH TREATY RATIFICATION AND ACCESSION
- 5. As of the date indicated in Annex II, the 68 WIPO Member States and one international organization listed in Annex II have ratified or acceded to the Marrakesh Treaty.
- D. MARRAKESH TREATY INFORMATION ACCESS POINT
- 6. Article 9(1) of the Marrakesh Treaty provides that "contracting parties shall endeavor to foster the cross-border exchange of accessible format copies by encouraging the voluntary sharing of information to assist authorized entities in identifying one another. The International Bureau of WIPO shall establish an information access point for this purpose."
- 7. In April 2018, the Marrakesh Treaty Information Access Point was established by the International Bureau of WIPO and published on the WIPO website at http://www.wipo.int/marrakesh_treaty/en/.

E. MARRAKESH TREATY PROMOTION

- 8. From July 2019 to February 2020, the Secretariat organized 14 international, regional, sub-regional and national events for the promotion of the Marrakesh Treaty, namely in Paro (Bhutan), Thimphu (Bhutan), Phnom Penh (Cambodia), Chengdu (China), Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic), Cairo (Egypt), Tegucigalpa (Honduras), Nouakchott (Mauritania), Podgorica (Montenegro), Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea), Seoul (Republic of Korea), Kigali (Rwanda), Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago), and Port Vila (Vanuatu) and has included information about the Marrakesh Treaty in a number of other programs and activities. Since March 2020, the Secretariat has organized three virtual meetings and webinars for the promotion of the Marrakesh Treaty, namely with Georgia, Turkmenistan and Ukraine. Further information about these seventeen events is available at the Marrakesh Treaty Information Access Point.
- 9. The Secretariat has also engaged in a number of additional activities, including legislative assistance, at the national level.
 - 10. The Assembly of the Marrakesh Treaty is invited to take note of the "Status of the Marrakesh Treaty" (document MVT/A/5/1).

[Annexes follow]

SIGNATORIES OF THE MARRAKESH TREATY TO FACILITATE ACCESS TO PUBLISHED WORKS FOR PERSONS WHO ARE BLIND, VISUALLY IMPAIRED OR OTHERWISE PRINT DISABLED (as of June 27, 2014)

The following eligible parties signed the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Holy See, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Sudan, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, and Zimbabwe (80).

[Annex II follows]

RATIFICATIONS OR ACCESSIONS TO THE MARRAKESH TREATY TO FACILITATE ACCESS TO PUBLISHED WORKS FOR PERSONS WHO ARE BLIND, VISUALLY IMPAIRED OR OTHERWISE PRINT DISABLED (as of July 10, 2020)

The following Member States and international organization ratified or acceded to the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belize, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chile, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Zimbabwe and European Union (69).

[End of Annex II and of document]