

BTAP/A/2/1 REV. ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: SEPTEMBER 27, 2021

# **Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances (BTAP)**

## **Assembly**

Second (2<sup>nd</sup> Ordinary) Session Geneva, October 4 to 8, 2021

STATUS OF THE BEIJING TREATY

Document prepared by the Secretariat

This document provides information on signature as well as on ratification of, and accession to, the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances ("Beijing Treaty"), including its recent entry into force. It also provides an update on the status of Beijing Treaty promotion and implementation.

### A. BEIJING TREATY SIGNATURE

- 1. On June 24, 2012, the Beijing Diplomatic Conference on the Protection of Audiovisual Performances adopted by consensus the Beijing Treaty, which was opened for signature on June 26, 2012. In accordance with Article 25 of the Beijing Treaty, the Treaty remained open for signature at the headquarters of WIPO for one year after its adoption, that is, until June 24, 2013.
- 2. As of June 24, 2013, the 74 eligible parties listed in Annex I had signed the Treaty.

### B. BEIJING TREATY ENTRY INTO FORCE

3. Article 26 provides that the Treaty shall enter into force three months after 30 eligible parties, as defined in Article 23 of the Treaty, have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession.

4. On April 28, 2020, the Beijing Treaty entered into force.

## C. BEIJING TREATY RATIFICATION AND ACCESSION

5. As of the date indicated in Annex II, the 43 WIPO Member States listed in Annex II have ratified or acceded to the Beijing Treaty.

#### D. BEIJING TREATY INFORMATION

6. Further information about the Beijing Treaty is published on the WIPO website at <a href="https://www.wipo.int/beijing\_treaty/en">https://www.wipo.int/beijing\_treaty/en</a>.

### E. BEIJING TREATY PROMOTION

- 7. Since July 2020, the Secretariat has organized or participated in 10 virtual meetings and webinars involving promotion of the Beijing Treaty at the international, regional, sub-regional and national levels. Further information about these activities is available at the Beijing Treaty web page.
- 8. The Secretariat has also engaged in a number of activities, including legislative assistance, at the national level.
  - 9. The Assembly of the Beijing Treaty is invited to take note of the "Status of the Beijing Treaty" (document BTAP/A/2/1 Rev.).

[Annexes follow]

# SIGNATORIES OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (as of June 24, 2013)

The following eligible parties signed the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, El Salvador, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Zambia, and Zimbabwe (74).

[Annex II follows]

# RATIFICATIONS OR ACCESSIONS TO THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (as of September 22, 2021)

The following Member States ratified or acceded to the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Algeria, Armenia, Belize, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Gabon, Indonesia, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Liechtenstein, Mali, Marshall Islands, Nigeria, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Slovakia, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu and Zimbabwe (43).

[End of Annex II and of document]