

A/59/13 ADD.2 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: OCTOBER 9, 2019

## Assemblies of the Member States of WIPO

Fifty-Ninth Series of Meetings Geneva, September 30 to October 9, 2019

SUMMARY REPORT

Addendum

## ITEM 9 OF THE CONSOLIDATED AGENDA

COMPOSITION OF THE WIPO COORDINATION COMMITTEE, AND OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES OF THE PARIS AND BERNE UNIONS

- 1. Discussions were based on documents A/59/5 and A/59/12.
- 2. Following informal consultations among Member States,
  - (i) The Paris Union Assembly unanimously elects the following States as *ordinary* members of the *Paris Union Executive Committee*: Angola, Argentina (2019-2020), Bangladesh, Belarus (member as per rotation)<sup>1</sup>, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Finland, Gabon, Ghana, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan (member as per rotation)<sup>2</sup>, Latvia, Morocco, Oman, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Sweden, Tajikistan (member as per rotation)<sup>3</sup>, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates,

<sup>1</sup> Member from January 10 to April 9, 2020, from July 10 to October 9, 2020, and from April 10 to July 9, 2021.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Member from January 10 to April 9, 2020, and from October 10, 2020 to January 9, 2021, and from April 10 to July 9, 2021.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Member from April 10 to July 9, 2020, and from October 10, 2020 to January 9, 2021 and from July 10 to October 9, 2021.

United States of America, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2020-2021), Viet Nam, Zimbabwe (41);

- (ii) The Berne Union Assembly unanimously elects the following States as *ordinary* members of the *Berne Union Executive Committee*: Algeria, Armenia (member as per rotation)<sup>4</sup>, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan (member as per rotation)<sup>5</sup>, Belgium, Canada, China, Denmark, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Georgia, Germany, Guatemala, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico (2019-2020), Mongolia, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Panama (2020-2021), Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Kingdom (40);
- (iii) The WIPO Conference unanimously designates the following States as *ad hoc* members of the *WIPO Coordination Committee*: Ethiopia (1);
- (iv) The WIPO Conference and the Assemblies of the Paris and Berne Unions note that Switzerland will continue to be an *ex officio* ordinary member of the *Paris Union Executive Committee* and of the *Berne Union Executive Committee*.

As a consequence, the WIPO Coordination Committee for the period October 2019 to October 2021 is composed of the following States:

Algeria, Angola, Argentina (2019-2020), Armenia (member as per rotation)<sup>4</sup>, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan (member as per rotation)<sup>5</sup>, Bangladesh, Belarus (member as per rotation)<sup>1</sup>, Belgium, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia (*ad hoc*), Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan (member as per rotation)<sup>2</sup>, Latvia, Luxemburg, Malaysia, Mexico (2019-2020), Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Panama (2020-2021), Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland (*ex officio*) Tajikistan (member as per rotation)<sup>3</sup>, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2020-2021), Viet Nam, Zimbabwe (83).

3. The Assemblies of the Paris and Berne Unions, and the WIPO Conference, each in so far as it is concerned, decide, per unanimous agreement by all Member States of WIPO, that the Coordination Committee, as exceptionally composed at 83 members, has been properly constituted, including, in particular, in view of its functions with respect to the process of appointment of the next Director General, and shall not be the basis for challenge, by any State Member of any pertinent WIPO body, to the validity of the nomination by the Coordination Committee of a candidate for appointment to the position of Director General in 2020.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Member from October 10, 2019 to January 9, 2020, and from July 10 to October 9, 2020, and from January 10 to April 9 2021

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Member from October 10, 2019 to January 9, 2020, and from April 10 to July 9, 2020, and from January 10 to April 9, 2021, and from July 10 to October 9, 2021.

4. The Assemblies of WIPO, each in so far as it is concerned, decide that the Chair of the WIPO General Assembly will undertake consultations with Member States on the allocation of the vacant seats at the WIPO Assemblies in 2021, for the election of the composition of the WIPO Coordination Committee, and of the Executive Committees of the Paris and Berne Unions, at the same WIPO Assemblies.

[End of document]