

A/58/INF/6 REV. ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: SEPTEMBER 21, 2018

Assemblies of the Member States of WIPO

Fifty-Eighth Series of Meetings Geneva, September 24 to October 2, 2018

STATUS OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES

Information document prepared by the Secretariat

This document provides information on signature as well as on ratification of, and accession to, the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances ("Beijing Treaty"), including its progress towards entry into force.

A. BEIJING TREATY SIGNATURE

- 1. On June 24, 2012, the Beijing Diplomatic Conference on the Protection of Audiovisual Performances adopted by consensus the Beijing Treaty, which was opened for signature on June 26, 2012. In accordance with Article 25 of the Beijing Treaty, the Treaty remained open for signature at the headquarters of WIPO for one year after its adoption, that is, until June 24, 2013.
- 2. As of June 24, 2013, the 74 eligible parties listed in Annex I had signed the Treaty.

B. BEIJING TREATY RATIFICATION AND ACCESSION

- 3. Under Article 26 of the Beijing Treaty, the Treaty shall enter into force three months after 30 eligible parties, as defined in Article 23 of the Treaty, have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession.
- 4. As of the date indicated in Annex II, the 20 WIPO Member States listed in Annex II have ratified or acceded to the Beijing Treaty.

C. BEIJING TREATY PROMOTION

- 5. Since September 2017, the Secretariat has organized nine international, regional, and sub-regional events for the promotion of the Beijing Treaty, namely in Kampala (Uganda), Kingstown (Saint Vincent and Grenadines), Moscow and Saint Petersburg (Russian Federation), Punta Cana (Dominican Republic), San Salvador (El Salvador), Shanghai (China), Sydney (Australia) and Tirana (Albania).
- 6. The Secretariat has also engaged in a number of activities, including legislative assistance, at the national level.

[Annexes follow]

SIGNATORIES OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (as of June 24, 2013)

The following eligible parties signed the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, El Salvador, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Zambia, and Zimbabwe (74).

[Annex II follows]

RATIFICATIONS OR ACCESSIONS TO THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (AS OF SEPTEMBER 21, 2018)

The following Member States ratified or acceded to the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Algeria, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Chile, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Gabon, Japan, Nigeria, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Slovakia, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, and United Arab Emirates (20).

[End of Annex II and of document]