

A/56/INF/6 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: AUGUST 2, 2016

Assemblies of the Member States of WIPO

Fifty-Sixth Series of Meetings Geneva, October 3 to 11, 2016

STATUS OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES

Information document prepared by the Secretariat

This document provides information on signature and ratification of and accession to the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances (Beijing Treaty).

- 1. On June 24, 2012, the Beijing Diplomatic Conference on the Protection of Audiovisual Performances adopted by consensus the Beijing Treaty.
- 2. This document provides an update on the status of the Treaty and its progress towards entry into force.

A. BEIJING TREATY SIGNATURE

- 3. The Beijing Treaty was opened for signature on June 26, 2012. In accordance with Article 25 of the Beijing Treaty, the Treaty remained open for signature at the headquarters of WIPO for one year after its adoption, that is, until June 24, 2013.
- 4. As of June 24, 2013, the 74 eligible parties listed in Annex I had signed the Treaty.

B. BEIJING TREATY PROMOTION

- 5. Since September 2015, the Secretariat has organized four international, regional and sub-regional events for the promotion of the Beijing Treaty, namely in Gaborone, Kingston, San Salvador and Singapore.
- 6. The Secretariat has also engaged in a number of activities, including legislative assistance, at the national level.

C. BEIJING TREATY RATIFICATION AND ACCESSION

- 7. Under Article 26 of the Beijing Treaty, the Treaty shall enter into force three months after 30 eligible parties, as defined in Article 23 of the Treaty, have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession.
- 8. As of the date of this document, the WIPO Member States listed in Annex II have acceded to or ratified the Beijing Treaty.

[Annexes follow]

SIGNATORIES OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (as of June 24, 2013)

The following eligible parties signed the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, El Salvador, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Zambia, and Zimbabwe (74).

[Annex II follows]

ACCESSIONS TO AND RATIFICATIONS OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (as of August 2, 2016)

The following Member States acceded to or ratified the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Botswana, Chile, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Japan, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Syrian Arab Republic, and United Arab Emirates (11).

[End of Annex II and of document]