

A/51/INF/5 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: SEPTEMBER 18, 2013

Assemblies of the Member States of WIPO

Fifty-First Series of Meetings Geneva, September 23 to October 2, 2013

INFORMATION ON THE STATUS OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES

Document prepared by the Secretariat

This document provides information on signature and ratification of the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances (BTAP).

1. On June 24, 2012, the Beijing Diplomatic Conference on the Protection of Audiovisual Performances adopted by consensus the BTAP.

2. This document provides an update on the status of the BTAP and the progress towards its entry into force.

A. BEIJING TREATY SIGNATURE

3. The BTAP was opened for signature on June 26, 2012. In accordance with Article 25 of the BTAP, the Treaty remained open for signature at the headquarters of WIPO for one year after its adoption, that is, until June 24, 2013.

4. As of June 24, 2013, the 71 eligible parties listed in Annex I have signed the BTAP.

B. BEIJING TREATY RATIFICATION AND ACCESSION

5. Under Article 26 of the BTAP, the Treaty shall enter into force three months after 30 eligible parties, as defined in Article 23 of the Treaty, have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession.

6. As of the date of this document, the WIPO Member State listed in Annex II has ratified the Beijing.

[Annexes follow]

SIGNATORIES OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (as of June 24, 2013)

The following eligible parties signed the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, El Salvador, Estonia, European Union, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United States of America, Zambia, Zimbabwe (71).

[Annex II follows]

RATIFICATIONS OF THE BEIJING TREATY ON AUDIOVISUAL PERFORMANCES (AS OF August 21, 2013)

The following State ratified the Beijing Treaty on Audiovisual Performances: Syrian Arab Republic (March 18, 2013).

[End of Annex II and of document]