

SCCR/43/5 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: MARCH 7, 2023

## **Standing Committee on Copyright and Related Rights**

Forty-Third Session Geneva, March 16, 2023

INFORMATION SESSION ON THE MUSIC STREAMING MARKET

**PROVISIONAL PROGRAM** 

prepared by the Secretariat

## 14.30 - 15.00Opening of the Information Session

Welcome address: Sylvie Forbin, Deputy Director General, Copyright and Creative Industries Sector, WIPO

Moderator: Michele Woods, Director, Copyright Law Division, WIPO

Speakers:

Mr. Javed Akhtar, Artist and Songwriter, India

Ms. Rosana Arbelo, Artist, Spain

Ms. Yvonne Chaka Chaka, Artist and Vice-President, CISAC, South Africa

Mr. Pierre-Yves Dermagne, Minister of Economy and Employment, Belgium

Ms. Hayet Guettat, Minister of Cultural Affairs, Tunisia

Mr. Konrad von Löhneysen, Founder and CEO, Embassy of Music, Germany

Ms. Françoise Remarck, Minister of Culture and Francophonie, Côte d'Ivoire

## 15.00 – 16.15 First Panel: Licensing Practices for Music Streaming Services

Moderator: Paolo Lanteri, Legal Counsellor, Copyright Law Division, WIPO

Speakers:

Ms. Reni Adadevoh, Senior Vice-President Legal and Business Affairs, Warner Music International, United States of America

Mr. Antony Bebawi, President of Global Digital, Sony Music Publishing, Egypt / United Kingdom

Ms. Solange Cesarovna, Artist and President, Sociedade Cabo-Verdiana de Música (SCM), Cabo Verde

Mr. Bill McGoey, Global Music Strategy & Business Development, TikTok / ByteDance, United Kingdom

Ms. Annie Morin, Executive Director, Artisti, Canada

Mr. Guillermo Ocampo, Director General, Sociedad Argentina de Autores y Compositores de Música (SADAIC), Argentina

Ms. Regan Smith, Head of Public Policy and Government Affairs, Spotify, United States of America

Mr. Qihu Yang, General Counsel and Head of Music Institute, Tencent, China

## 16.15 – 17.30 Second Panel: Distribution of Streaming Revenues

Moderator: Paolo Lanteri

Speakers:

Mr. Kwee Tiang Ang, Senior Vice President of Asia Public Policy, Universal Music Group, Singapore

Mr. Nacho García Vega, Artist and President, International Artist Organisation (IAO), Spain

Mr. Daniel Johansson, Researcher and Senior Lecturer, Inland Norway University of Applied Science, Sweden

Mr. Garrett Levin, President and Chief Executive Officer, Digital Media Association (DiMA), United States of America

Ms. Helienne Lindvall, President, European Composer and Songwriter Alliance (ECSA), Sweden

Mr. Will Page, Author of Pivot and Fellow, London School of Economics (LSE), United Kingdom

Mr. Enrique Zayas, Artist and Board Member of AIE Paraguay, Paraguay

17.30 – 18.00 **Q&A and Open Discussion** 

[End of document]