

OKINAWA INSTITUTE OF SCIENCE AND

TECHNOLOGY GRADUATE UNIVERSITY







CONFERENCE

WIPO/IP/OKA/18/INF/3 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: NOVEMBER 26, 2018

# Third Regional Conference for Presidents and Vice-Presidents of Universities and Research Institutions on Creating an Enabling Intellectual Property (IP) Environment for Technology Development, Management and Commercialization

organized by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

in cooperation with the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University (OIST)

with the assistance of the Japan Patent Office (JPO)

# Okinawa, November 13 to 15, 2018

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

prepared by the International Bureau of WIPO

## I. PARTICIPANTS

# <u>MALAYSIA</u>

Fatimah Rohada Dahalan (Ms.), Assistant Director General, Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO)

**Nor Azlina Ariffin (M**s.), Under Secretary, Ministry of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change (MESTECC)

H. E. YB Dato' Saifuddin Nasution Bin Ismail (Mr.), Minister for Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs

Nor Siah Baharin (Ms.), Legal advisor, Universiti Putra Malaysia

Khairiah Badri (Ms.), Professor, University Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Samsilah Roslan (Ms.), President, Innovation and Technology Managers Association of Malaysia (ITMA)

Rofina Yasmin Othman (Ms.), Associate Vice Chancellor, University of Malaysia

Ahmad Parveez Ghulam Kadir (Mr.), Deputy Director-General (R&D), Malaysian Palm Oil Board

#### PHILIPPINES

Eric Lanado (Mr.), Director III, Intellectual Property Office of Philippines (IPOPHIL)

Josephine Santiago (Ms.), Director General, Intellectual Property Office of Philippines (IPOPHIL)

**Garcia Edgar (Mr.),** Director, Technology Application and Promotion Institute (TAPI) - Department of Science and Technology (DOST)

Joel Limson (Mr.), President, Negros Oriental State University

**Danilo Pacoy (Mr.),** Vice President, Research, Development and Extension, University of Southeastern Philippines

**Eva Maria Cutiongco De La Paz (Ms.),** Vice Chancellor, Research and executive director, National Institutes of Health, University of the Philippines Manila

Cinderella Filipina Jaro (Ms.), OIC Executive Director, Commission on Higher Education

Jesus Rodrigo Torres (Mr.), President, Technological University of the Philippines

Fernando Jr. Sanchez (Mr.), Chancellor, University of the Philippines Los Banos

Danilo Concepcion (Mr.), President, University of the Philippines

#### SRI LANKA

**Geetha Abeysinghe (Ms.),** Program Director, Coordinating Secretariat for Science, Technology and Innovation (COSTI)

Kusum Piyarathne (Ms.), Acting Secretary, Ministry of Industry and Commerce

Pathmasiri Ranasinghe (Mr.), Senior Deputy Director, Industrial Technology Institute

K Kapila CK Perera (Mr.), Vice Chancellor, University of Moratuwa

Sampath Punchihewa (Mr.), Doctor, Senior Lecturer, University of Colombo

Saman Seneweera (Mr.), Director/Professor, National Institute of Fundamental Studies (NIFS)

#### THAILAND

**Chalermpol Tuchinda (Mr.),** Vice President, National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)

**Orakanoke Phanraksa (Ms.),** Senior IP Consultant, National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)

Kowisa Sathornsumetee (Ms.), Senior Consultant, National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)

**Sumonwan Sungchuay (Ms.),** Director of Technology Licensing office, National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA)

**Supachai Pathumnakul (Mr.),** Vice president for Research and Technology Transfer, Khon Kaen University

**Duanghathai Pentrakoon (Ms.),** Director of Intellectual Property Institute, Chulalongkorn University

Sunton Wongsiri (Mr.), Intellectual Property Officer, Prince of Songkla University

Kiratisin Pattarachai (Mr.), Director of Technology Transfer Office, Mahidol University

Sampan Singharajwarapan (Mr.), Vice President for Research and Innovation, Chiang Mai University

**Porsche Jarumon (Mr.),** Senior Trade Officer, IP Promotion and Development Division Department of Intellectual Property Ministry of Commerce

#### PAKISTAN

Muhammad Tarar (Mr.), Director General, Intellectual Property Organization Pakistan

#### VIET NAM

**Tran le Hong (Mr.),** Director of Administrative Office, National Office of Intellectual Property of Vietnam (NOIP)

#### II. SPEAKERS

**Richard S. Cahoon (Mr.),** President Bio Property Strategy Group Inc., Adjunct Professor International Program Cornell University, New York, United States of America

Yumiko Hamano (Ms.), Intellectual Property Consultant, ET Cube International

John Bakum (Mr.), Web Communications Specialist, Cornell University

Oded Shoseyov (Mr.), Professor, University of Jerusalem

Lauren Stokoe (Ms.), Assistant Director, Innovation and Manager Source IP

**Takafumi Yamamoto (Mr.),** President and Representative Director, TODAI TLO, Ltd., Tokyo, Japan,

Jun Sugiura (Mr.), Professor Graduate School of IP, OIT, Osaka, Japan

Kosuke Kato (Mr.), Head, Planning Section, Department of Co-Innovation, Office for Industry-University Co-Creation, Osaka University

Toru Homma (Mr.), Senior Advisor, JICA

**Robert Baughman (Mr.),** Executive Vice President & Vice CEO, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Okinawa, Japan

David Simmons (Mr.), Counsellor, Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific (ASPAC), WIPO

**Nobue Yazawa (Ms.)**, Program Officer, Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific (ASPAC), WIPO

### III. ORGANIZERS

**Robert Baughman (Mr.),** Executive Vice President & Vice CEO, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Okinawa, Japan

David Simmons (Mr.), Counsellor, Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific (ASPAC), WIPO

Andrew M. Ong (Mr.), Director, Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific (ASPAC), WIPO

**Fumio Ishitsuka (Mr.),** Program Officer, Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific (ASPAC),WIPO

**Nobue Yazawa (Ms.),** Associate Program Officer, Regional Bureau for Asia and the Pacific (ASPAC),WIPO

[End of the document]