







### **MEETING**

WIPO/HL/IP/KLA/15/INF/2 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: MARCH 27, 2015

High-Level Meeting for Members of Parliament of the African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO) Member States: Strategic Use of the Intellectual Property (IP) System for Economic, Cultural, Social and Technological Development

Kampala, Uganda, March 25 to 26, 2015

and

Creativity and Access to Knowledge: A Social and Economic Impetus for Africa

Kampala, Uganda, March 27, 2015

organized by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

and the Japan Patent Office (JPO)

in cooperation with the Government of the Republic of Uganda

and

the African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO)

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

prepared by the International Bureau of WIPO

## I. PARTICPANTS

## <u>BURUNDI</u>

Hon. Henri Bukumbanya, Member of Parliament, Bujumbura

Hon. Oscar Ntasano, Member of Parliament, Bujumbura

## **ETHIOPIA**

Hon. Mulugeta Damtew Weldetekle, Addis Ababa

Hon. Getachew Melese Belay, Addis Ababa

## **GAMBIA**

Hon. Sheriff Misba Hydara, Member of Parliament, Banjul

Hon. Lamine K. Saine, Member of Parliament, Banjul

#### **GHANA**

Hon. Joseph Osei-Owusu, Parliament of Ghana, Victoriaburg, Osu-Accra

Hon. Magnus Kofi Amoatey, Parliament of Ghana, Victoriaburg, Osu-Accra

## **KENYA**

Hon. John Muriithi Waiganjo, Member of Parliament, Member of Justice and legal Affairs Committee. Nairobi

Hon. David Aoko Were, Member of Parliament, Chairman, Labor Committee, Nairobi

Hon. Ronald Kiprotich Tonui, Member of Parliament, Nairobi

Hon. Rose Auma Ogendo Nyamunga, Member of Parliament, Nairobi

#### **MALAWI**

Hon. Peter Louis Chakhwantha, Member of Parliament of Malawi, Lilongwe

Hon. Victor White Mbewe, Member of Parliament of Malawi, Lilongwe

## **MAURITIUS**

Hon. Santeev Kalidass Teeluckdharry, Member of Parliament, Grand Bay

Hon. Sudesh Rughoobur, Member of Parliament

#### **MOZAMBIQUE**

Hon. Armando Ramiro Artur, Member of Parliament, Maputo

#### SAO TOME & PRINCIPE

Hon. Jose Manuel Macumbo Costa Alegre, Member of Parliament, Sao Tome

Hon. Joaquim Salvador Afonso, Member of Parliament, Sao Tome

## **SWAZILAND**

Hon. Jan Jabulani Sithole, Swaziland Parliament, Mbabane

Hon. Bonisile Queeneth Mngometulu, Senator, Mbabane

## ZAMBIA

Hon. Raymond Mpundu, Member of Parliament, Lusaka

Hon. Christopher Kalila, Member of Parliament, Lusaka

## ZIMBABWE

Hon. David Chapfika, Member of Parliament, Chairman, Finance and Economic portfolio Committee, Harare

Hon. Edmond Mhere, Member of Parliament, Parliament of Zimbabwe, Harare

## II. NATIONAL PARTICPANTS

Hon. Steven Bakka, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Denis Obua, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Masiko Kabakumba, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Alex Ndeezi, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Monicah Amoding, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Medard Lubega Segona, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Joseph Balikudembe Mutebi, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Fox Odoi Oywelowo, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Wilfred Niwagaba, Member of Parliament of Uganda

Hon. Lt. Col. Sarah Mpabwa, Member of Parliament of Uganda

#### III. SPEAKERS

Mr. Ronald K. Ahimbisibwe, Uganda National Bureau of Standards, Kampala

Mr. Fernando dos Santos, Director General, African Regional Intellectual, Property (ARIPO), Harare

Mr. Nicolaas Faasen, Publisher, Kuilsrivier, Cape Town, South Africa

Mr. Chris Friend, World Blind Union, Sussex, United Kingdom

Ms. Beatrice Guzu, Chief Executive Officer, Uganda Disability Council, Kampala

Mr. Dick M. Kamugasha, Chemical Engineer and Environmental Technologist, Uganda Industrial Research Institute (UIRI), Kampala

Mr. Christopher. J. Kiige, Director, Industrial Property, ARIPO, Harare

Mrs. Primah Kwagala, Center for Health, Human Rights and Development (CEHURD), Kampala

Ms. Keitseng Nkah Monyatsi, Copyright Administrator, Companies and Intellectual Property, Gaborone

Mr. Benoît Müller, Lawyer, Geneva

Ms. Angela Ndambuki, Chief Executive Officer, Performer's Rights, Organization of Kenya, Nairobi

Prof. Tom Ogada, Executive Director, T&P Innovation and Technology Management Services, Nairobi

Ms. Marisela Ouma, Executive Director, Kenya Copyright Board, Nairobi

#### IV. JAPAN PATENT OFFICE

Mr. Kunihiko Shimano, Director-General, JPO, Tokyo

Mr. Takuya Tanabu, Senior Director for Intellectual Property, Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO), Dusseldorf, Germany

Mr. Shinichiro Hara, Deputy Director, International Cooperation Division, JPO, Tokyo

Mrs. Yoko Tsutada, Translator, Nairobi

# V. <u>WIPO</u>

Mr. Marc Sery-Koré, Director, Regional Bureau for Africa, Development Sector

Ms. Joyce C. Banya, Senior Counsellor, Regional Bureau for Africa, Department for Africa and Special Projects, Development Sector

Ms. Carole Croella, Senior Counsellor, Culture and Creative Industries Sector, Copyright Law Division

Mr. Shingo Tsuda, Program Officer, Regional Bureau for Africa, Department for Africa and Special Projects, Development Sector

[End of Document]