

MVT/A/9/1 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: MAY 8, 2024

Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled (Marrakesh Treaty)

Assembly

Ninth (9th Ordinary) Session Geneva, July 9 to 17, 2024

STATUS OF THE MARRAKESH TREATY

Document prepared by the Secretariat

This document provides information on signature as well as on ratification of, and accession to, the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled ("Marrakesh Treaty"). It also provides an update on the status of Marrakesh Treaty promotion and implementation.

A. MARRAKESH TREATY SIGNATURE

- 1. On June 27, 2013, the Diplomatic Conference to Conclude a Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works by Visually Impaired Persons and Persons with Print Disabilities adopted by consensus the Marrakesh Treaty, which was opened for signature on June 28, 2013. In accordance with Article 17 of the Marrakesh Treaty, the Treaty remained open for signature at the headquarters of WIPO for one year after its adoption, that is, until June 27, 2014.
- 2. As of June 27, 2014, the 80 eligible parties listed in Annex I had signed the Treaty.

B. MARRAKESH TREATY ENTRY INTO FORCE

- 3. Article 18 provides that the Treaty shall enter into force three months after 20 eligible parties have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession. The twentieth deposit was made on June 30, 2016.
- 4. On September 30, 2016, the Marrakesh Treaty entered into force.
- C. MARRAKESH TREATY RATIFICATION AND ACCESSION
- 5. As of March 28, 2024, the 93 WIPO Member States listed in Annex II and the European Union have ratified or acceded to the Marrakesh Treaty. The 94 Contracting Parties to the Treaty cover 120 WIPO Member States.
- D. MARRAKESH TREATY INFORMATION ACCESS POINT
- 6. Article 9.1 of the Marrakesh Treaty provides that "Contracting Parties shall endeavor to foster the cross-border exchange of accessible format copies by encouraging the voluntary sharing of information to assist authorized entities in identifying one another. The International Bureau of WIPO shall establish an information access point for this purpose."
- 7. In April 2018, the Marrakesh Treaty Information Access Point was established by the International Bureau of WIPO and published on the WIPO website.

E. MARRAKESH TREATY PROMOTION

- 8. Since July 2023, the Secretariat has organized or participated in nine virtual meetings and webinars involving promotion of the Marrakesh Treaty at the international, regional, sub-regional and national levels. Further information about these activities is available at the Marrakesh Treaty Information Access Point.
- 9. In July 2023, the Secretariat organized the tenth-year celebration of the Adoption of the Marrakesh Treaty, which was hosted during the Sixty-Fourth Series of Meetings of the Assemblies at WIPO Headquarters in Geneva.
- 10. The Secretariat has also engaged in a number of additional activities, including legislative assistance, at the national level.
 - 11. The Assembly of the Marrakesh Treaty is invited to take note of the "Status of the Marrakesh Treaty" (document MVT/A/9/1).

[Annexes follow]

SIGNATORIES OF THE MARRAKESH TREATY TO FACILITATE ACCESS TO PUBLISHED WORKS FOR PERSONS WHO ARE BLIND, VISUALLY IMPAIRED OR OTHERWISE PRINT DISABLED (as of June 27, 2014)

The following eligible parties signed the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled: Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Holy See, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, Sudan, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, and Zimbabwe (80).

[Annex II follows]

RATIFICATIONS OR ACCESSIONS TO THE MARRAKESH TREATY TO FACILITATE ACCESS TO PUBLISHED WORKS FOR PERSONS WHO ARE BLIND, VISUALLY IMPAIRED OR OTHERWISE PRINT DISABLED (as of March 28, 2024)

The following Member States and international organization ratified or acceded to the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled: Afghanistan, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Zimbabwe, and European Union (94).

[End of Annex II and of document]